Mary Willis Library was founded in 1888 by Dr. Francis T. Willis in memory of his daughter and as a gift to the people of his hometown and county. In 1972 the Library was included in the National Register of Historic Places.
Architect Edmund Lind of Atlanta designed a brick building in the warm brick tones and picturesque profile of the fashionable high-Victorian style. The central window commemorating Mary Willis was made at the Tiffany Factory in New Haven.
Mary Willis Library has an invaluable core collection of rare books on Wilkes and Georgia history, books by local authors, family memorabilia and Washington newspapers.
Children's Programs are designed especially with the young child in mind. These include StoryTime craft workshops Summer Reading Program Children's Tea Party and more!
Over the years the libraries have expanded their services to better provide the public with information reference materials and recreational reading. Multi-media resources are used in classrooms churches nursing homes scouting groups, extension programs and civic clubs.
Some of the Library programs and services offered for adults include: exhibits, lectures, photocopying, audio-visual equipment and public use computers
You can help support our library by joining Friends of the Mary Willis Library. The Friends support the library staff sponsor special projects and promote the library's programs in the community.
For more information on the Library or Friends of the Library call 706-678-7736